Get to know the Founder🧐

Join us on our ride!

Hi Nest Readers🪹,

I know this newsletter is generally all about our community members, partners, events and more.

Today, even though it makes me feel slightly uncomfortable and out of place, it is about me. Why? Because we just soft launched our crowdfunding campaign and generally people invest in the founder. If you don’t know me, you don’t know who you are investing in. SO here goes, me crawling out of my founder hole and giving you a little insider info.

Hi, I’m Lydia👋.

I love building communities. It started when I was 7 and lived on a small Cul de sac in England. I didn’t realize it then but I was always the one knocking on all the kids doors trying to get everyone to play football together in the street. I went on to create and join communities everywhere I moved (which was a lot), until I realized that community support felt amazing and was completely necessary for all aspects of life.

I was lucky enough to live in multiple countries and had the honor of observing many different cultures as a child; many where women were treated differently. I saw struggle, survival, adversity, hard real work, sacrifice, poverty, and more. These opportunities expanded my horizons, I have much gratitude for them.

In 2001 I joined the entertainment industry I realized that I was also treated differently. It became clear to me that women needed a space to create together, to empower, to bond with likeminded people. This awareness became more and more intense throughout my life as I created small women’s communities through music, sports, mom life, and more. In my last business I got to know some other female athletes and entertainers, and it occurred to me yet again that we had nowhere to support, empower, collaborate, and create.

Osprey was built 

Just to recap, Osprey is a community for women in sports & entertainment. Where they learn, discuss, collaborate, create, and where we give them platforms at events, online, and work hard to get brands & businesses onboard. Our members are Olympians, coaches, DJ’s, models, executives in sport & entertainment, and college athletes.

You can read all about our milestones on our campaign page here. So why did I chose to crowdfund? First of all anyone can invest, and I wanted more women to have access to be investors. The great news is you can put in $100 or $10000 if you want, the minimum is low and the sky is the limit. You don’t have to be accredited and you just have to fill in your personal info since it is an “official and real investment.” AKA you will have a stake in the community.

Secondly, I wanted people to get behind the movement. It is 2024 and the shift (since I was in the music industry 15 years ago) has only moved an inch. Some may cheer about it, but to me it is not good enough and I am here to put in my hard work to make some impact.

Third, I wanted to build the community to support the community because that is what we do. Humans should be cheering other humans on, and I am sure most of you would agree it is time to get behind hard working, talented women who are underpaid and unrecognized.

So there it is. Check out the testimonials on the campaign page, we have many of them. Osprey is creating change and we want you to be a part of it. So if you have $100 or more to invest come on up and watch us soar. CLICK HERE FOR THE CAMPAIGN PAGE. We see you and we believe in you too. 🫶🏼

Get to know the FOUNDER (aka Lyds to her friends)

  • I was born in Thailand.

  • I am British in blood (definitely some nordic in there:), but an American Citizen 🇺🇸

  • I think working out and sports are fun, I am extremely high energy.

  • I love to learn, to read, to digest, to create, to problem solve.

  • I used to be a pop singer/songwriter.

  • My first business was a record label at age 21- it was named Singha Records (after my favorite Thai beer 🙂). We used Myspace as our main marketing tool- HI TOM!👋

  • I moved every 18 months to 2 years until I was 18.

  • I played soccer in college.

  • My favorite sport is skiing- there is nothing more peaceful than a mountain.

  • My first husband died 8 years ago - it was really traumatic- he was my high school love. I miss him most days still.

  • I am a single mom - my 2 kids are my World (my daughter wants to be a pro softball player, tik tok mom!).

  • I work so hard at everything I do and I have great discipline skills.

  • I LOVE to ice plunge- it resets me and makes me feel amazing.

  • I run every single day. It brings me great joy.

  • I have lived in 7 different countries.

  • I believe there is nothing you can’t learn in some capacity.

  • I believe in humans. I believe in impact. I believe in change.

Thanks for listening. We hope you become part of the community supporting the community, because together we are a Community.

XOXO Lydia @ The Osprey Nest